Inspiration: my not so salad, salad.

by hillarymay

Okay okay. This inspiration is a little random, I know, and it borders as one of my favorite things rather than something I’m deeply inspired by. I mean, how can you really be moved by a salad that’s not even a salad? Or for that matter, how can you even be moved by a salad … period?

I had a moment earlier this week as I was making a salad that all I really wanted was the toppings. I thought to myself, what’s the point of having lettuce? I always end up picking the lettuce clean of all my delicious add-ins, and then I get bothered when I realize that I have to eat the rest of it.

So there I was, having this debate with myself, with a slew of people impatiently waiting behind me to dish out their own salads, and I decided to just go for it – I heaped on everything but the lettuce. It included tomatoes, banana peppers (my new favorite food), carrots, walnuts, two cheese cubes (how disciplined am I?) and a dash of balsamic dressing.

Let me tell you, it was tasty, and believe it or not, it set the course for the rest of the meals I had this week. My mother will probably complain about the lack of nutrients in my decision, but I promise I consumed some vegetables!

I’ll be headed to Chicago tomorrow for a little weekend getaway, and it’s going to be incredibly relaxing (yes that’s a fact and not a prediction). All I want to do is veg on the couch all day in my pajamas, watching a season of something and grabbing Taco Bell when it feels right (somehow Taco Bell ALWAYS feels right). I have to stifle that day-dream during the weekdays and live it out on weekends. It just doesn’t get the time it deserves quite honestly.

So as I continue day dreaming, I wish you another happy weekend. All in a day’s work, my friends.

I couldn’t help putting a photo of my new favorite food in this post. My roommate, Emily, was a wonderfully patient hand model. Thanks, love. 

