Nine o’ clock? oops.

by hillarymay

So here’s the deal. My weeks of silence has led me to this post. But then again, no brilliant thoughts will be written here, I can assure you. Just good old fashion story telling and maybe a list of hopes, dreams and aspirations I have for this next semester (believe me, my mind was on over drive during the fifteen minutes I spent in British Lit this afternoon).

For those of you who didn’t know, I spent the last month trotting the continental U.S. (and by “continental U.S.” I mean four states in four weeks). My last trip was spent in the heartland of Wisconsin, and believe me, it’s just as cold, if not colder there than Upland, Indiana. But here’s the kicker, my stereo magically busted towards the end of my drive. Or according to my father, I “blew a circuit.” This may not really seem like that big of a deal. In fact, the last hour of my drive was nice and peaceful and rather reflective. The honeymoon, however, last about a day. I spent seven hours in silence on my drive back. I handled it pretty well until I hit downtown Chicago, and I started to go stir crazy when I drove through Valparaiso. I decided to get creative, breaking each hour up with a certain car activity. I spent an hour singing songs in my head, another hour contemplating the past month and another hour talking on the phone.

(You may judge me for the next thing I am about to say, but so be it). I spent another half hour thinking about my first day back – what outfit I can pair and wear, how I should style my hair, what jewelry or brooches I could sport. First days are always important, and it should start off right … right? Let’s just say I was desperate.

Well, I went to bed last night rather late, and I decided to shower in the morning before my nine o’ clock. But in the most cliche term possible, I overslept. I didn’t get my shower like I planned, and I didn’t get to wear what I wanted. Instead, I wore the exact same outfit I wore the night before and my hair was nice and … for a lack of a better word, gross. What was even worse was that I couldn’t find my contacts OR my glasses. I stood in the middle of my room in absolute panic. I thought about skipping my classes because of it. I also considered going to class without seeing. Literally. Last resort? I had one new “left” contact available. So there you have it, I wore only one contact for most of the day. I spent an hour in Spanish in fear of being called on (my anxiety this semester won’t come from busyness but from my ridiculous spanish class). I could not even remember how to ask someone their name. Instead “abandoned ship” kept screaming in my head. I needed earplugs.

I skipped lunch in order to shower and made it just in time for my second class … still unable to see. (Oh, I could hardly participate in chapel because the girl in front of me was blocking my left eye view, leaving me with total blurriness). I couldn’t stop giggling. Needless to say, I hugged and chatted with friends I hadn’t seen in two months, and they sure got a glimpse of dirty, I-haven’t-showered-in-days Hillary.

Joy.

First day down. Moral of the lesson? Looking so fresh and so clean is totally overrated.

So much for my hopes and dreams. That will have to wait for another post. Eh?

