“How is it already 2 a.m.?”

by hillarymay

I literally gasped when I looked at the date I last posted. October 13? Has it really been that long? To be honest, I don’t even know why I’m writing something now. My roommate is already fast asleep and classical music is playing softly in the background, beckoning me to my bed. My confession for today? I went to bed at 7 a.m. this morning. And even as I type this, I can’t help but think of a so called ‘fact’ that a person loses one year of their life whenever they lose one day of sleep. I really hope that’s it isn’t true because I’ve had a lot of late nighters this semester.

I spent the entire day yesterday in Chicago (this makes the 2nd soon to be 3rd trip in the past 4 weeks). An incredibly good friend of mine purchased two tickets to the Mumford and Sons concert at the Riviera, and he so graciously asked me to join him. It was, in so few words, an incredible show.  I’ve thought about it non stop today. Such a talented band that manages to sound even better live than on their album (which is already top notch).

So, after forgetting my concert ticket at Taylor, consuming cookies and coffee pre-performance, standing in line in the freezing cold, being one of the many to rock out to, shall I say … greatness, searching the city for an open restaurant at 1 a.m., making the four hour drive BACK to Taylor (I was a mighty fine car DJ) and crawling into bed while the sun was rising, I am finally here. Completely exhausted, ready to get up and take on whatever tomorrow holds. Whew. It has been nonstop craziness on my end (hence that lack of entries) so please forgive me.

All I can say is that I am alive and surviving. I have more things coming soon. Just a matter of time. In the mean time, I bid you good night.

 

