Fire Alarms

by hillarymay

What do you think of when you think of fire alarms? The immeasurable amount of fire drills you had in elementary school? Single filing out of the classroom with your hands over your ears, thanking God that he spared you ten free minutes of that horrifically boring lecture? (If it hadn’t been the fire alarm, I’m sure you would have dozed off eventually).

Or what about the Office episode where Ryan burns his sandwich in the microwave, causing Michael to dart out of the office before the women and children? All of this followed by “What item would you bring on a desert island?” which Dwight chooses a hollowed out book filled with waterproof matches. And we all know that “Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince” takes the cake. Every time. (Please, Friends …  enjoy the video clip).

Better yet, what about Olson Hall? I treasure those moments I get to file out of the dorm at three in the morning. Seriously, nothing is better than waking up from a good dream to hundreds of pajama-clad girls filing outside in the rain or snow. Seriously, Olson Hall? Get your act together.

I say all of this because the fire alarm went off in the newsroom today. I sat there, dumbfounded, unsure of what to do next. But let me ask you this: why is the first thing you think of when you hear a fire alarm “Hm … I wonder if the alarm is going off because of something I did?”

(Pause)

Or … maybe its just me.

All I know is that some things never change. Fire drills in the office: no exception.

