114 3rd Street

by hillarymay

You know, it’s a strange thing – packing up and moving out of one apartment and moving into another. My life is bundled in brown boxes and paper bags, and I can’t help but think of the future. I’ve decided that I really need to reduce the amount of things I own. Moving in and out of my dorm room at Taylor and now my old apartment in D.C. confirms this. And to think that I call all my things “necessities.” Pssh.

Needless to say, I will be sleeping in a new place tonight. My apartment has so much potential; it just needs some cleaning, organizing and re-arranging (as I longingly wish for Ikea – how ironic). I have a big task ahead of me. As I told a friend earlier, I only wish I had a partner in crime. I am officially alone, without my companions, and for a moment, the city loses some of its glamour. Oh dear. My roommates will arrive the middle of May, and it couldn’t come soon enough.

Well, my summer has officially started. I cannot believe I made it through an entire semester at WJC; it has been the best experience of my college career thus far. It has shaped me, stretched my thinking and provided answers to some of my uncertainties. I am not the same person I was when I started, and I attribute it to the relationships I developed, my internship experience, the city in which I lived, and the lectures I received each week.

Summer? I think I need you. A lot. Thank you for arriving so promptly.

But WJC, you will always have a special place in my heart. Hello ALUMNI!

