To Live Deliberately

by hillarymay

Some times I think I need to stand on my desk in order to look at life in a new way. And while I stand, Mr. Keating’s words ring in my ear:

“Just when you think you know something, you have to look at it in a different way.”

The Dead Poet’s Society gives me goosebumps. If you’re lucky to watch the film with me, you’ll notice that I cry every time.

I have always had a life long dream of  reciting poetry to classical music while kicking a soccer ball and I have developed a life long crush on Knox Overstreet (even if he’s 39 and 19 years my senior!).  I still long to read poetry in a dark cave in the early, misty morning hours – to drink in the words of  poets Henry David Thoreau, Walt Whitmann and Robert Frost. But most importantly, the film’s message is utterly inspiring.  I am consistently left with the desire to search for my own voice – to be an individual rather than a follower. To have “live deliberately” to “suck out all the marrow of life” when everything is said and done.

“I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.”

Henry David Thoreau

