sparrow, sing to me.

by hillarymay

I knew that it was going to be a beautiful day.

Warm sunlight pours into my room as I lie awake. I am buried under several layers of blankets and my body is curled tightly in a ball. The room is so silent I can hear the beating of my own heart, but the peacefulness is quickly interrupted by the muted roar of a siren. I take a moment and stretch my stiff arms and legs, and then I silently slip out of bed and walk to my window and pull back the thin, white curtain.

It was just what I had hoped for. The sky is deep blue and the sun looks enticing. I dress quickly and in a few short minutes, I find myself standing outside on a red, crooked sidewalk. The sun feels warm on my skin and I breath deeply. It feels good to walk, to stretch my legs, to awaken my senses. I walk slowly, admiring the scene unfolding around me. For the first time, I do not have an agenda and the stress of the week wanes.

I eventually make my way towards Eastern Market, a place bustling with activity and excitement. Several small, white tents line the cobblestone streets and people of all ages carry bags filled with fresh apples, blueberries and peaches. Various middle age women wait impatiently in line waiting to receive assorted cheeses, freshly made humus and baguettes. The cafe patios are crowed with dear friends sipping coffee, and for a moment, I imagine myself in a scene of a movie. It all seems picturesque.

The entire afternoon felt undeniably sweet. It was a breath of fresh air amidst a cold and wintry season. Spring is on our doorstep, and there is still much to enjoy and appreciate. The thought brings a smile to my face as I sleepily crawl into bed for a late afternoon nap. The comforting sounds of the outside world sings a beautiful tune as I drift asleep.

It was a beautiful day indeed.

