Idiosyncrasies

by hillarymay

I am really, really tired. But nothing Usher’s Confessions Pt. 2 can’t fix. Sometimes when I really want to impress myself, I start quoting it verbatim, hoping and wishing that others around me notice my mad skills. I use to do this with Eminem’s Lose Yourself. Who didn’t? My friend Cody went through an Eminem phase back in high school, and I remember car rides where I’d watch him rap while he played the air drums on the steering wheel. I always envisioned myself on stage wearing an overly large sweatshirt rapping this song to thousands of people. Of course I’d eat some of mom’s spaghetti beforehand. On my worst days, you’ll find find me rapping 50 Cent’s In Da Club, something I am not particularly proud of. Songs are catchy; it’s my only defense.

On most days, you’ll find me listening to Gary Go or whatever playlist I’ve created for the week. Don’t worry, I have plenty of them. But then there are those rare moments where I dream of being a rapper, and if you’re lucky, you just might catch me in action.

