(insert sad face)

by hillarymay

Well, as luck would have it, I slipped on some black ice this morning and sprained my ankle, rendering me useless for every activity I had planned with my sister today. We suddenly found ourselves at GW Hospital, the last place I imagined I’d visit today. Three hours later, I limped out of there with a cast and crutches. For the rest of the day, I felt like a big, awkward piece of luggage. There was no where to put me and Heather couldn’t leave me for long periods of time. My stubbornness prevailed, however, and I found myself inching along downtown D.C. for dinner and dessert. Peter gave me a piggyback ride up 8 flights of stairs to my apartment (three times), which was highly impressive; those stairs will be tricky this next week.

I hate, hate, hate being an inconvenience. I’ll be spending yet another week working from home, with the hope and prayer that I’ll be ready to start walking the following week. I can’t imagine what I’ll do if my recovery takes longer than that. In the mean time, I’m ready to collapse into bed. Today wore me out.

