New Places

by hillarymay

It is very interesting watching Washingtonians before and after a snow storm. I ventured outside today with the hope of finding a quaint place where I could sit and work on my lap top. On my way, I passed several people carrying milk and eggs. Dozens of kids wearing snow suits were out playing in the snow, and several neighbors were shoveling their side walks. Snow storms in D.C. really brings neighbors and friends together. Several restaurants and cafes were bustling with activity, and I walked into three cafes before I found a seat at  Le Pain Quotidien, a cafe on the corner of Pennsylvania Ave. and Eastern Market. I have passed Le pain on several occasions with the hope of one day venturing in. Now, with another storm on the way, I decided that today would be the day. With only one server, you can imagine the chaos. I managed to snag a seat at a long, family style table, and I ordered a delicious cinnamon and carrot muffin.

It has been a wonderful day thus far. I am anxious to see how much snow the district will receive and how that will impact my internship the next few days. In the mean time, I will be researching, researching, researching. Added in with a few hours of people watching.

