Cloudy, with a chance of 20 inches of snow.

by hillarymay

I fell asleep yesterday night while reading Boomsday and woke up to a beautiful, blue skied morning. I still find it hard to believe that 12-20 inches of snow is projected to fall this weekend. Everyone is calling it snOMGasm. Even wearing a lighter coat and gloves while walking to work felt a bit warm. And now it appears that we have six more weeks of winter; I wouldn’t mind as much if I wasn’t living in place bustling with activity. Now it only seems limiting. Never again will I visit the monuments in such blistery weather. Never again.

It is now Thursday, and I cannot believe that I have a weeks worth of interning under my belt. Although I have yet to step outside of the office and cover a story, I am thankful that I have had some spare time to complete the two papers that are due on Friday. Staying up late writing a paper knowing that my alarm will sound at 6:50 a.m. sounds less and less appealing as time goes on. Although it feels like the weekend, we still have one more day of class. It is a good thing we live only 30 seconds away from our classroom. Wouldn’t want the snow to get in the way of our learning.

I am, however, looking forward to four days of dressing down; tights and skirts are becoming my second skin. The first day I slipped into them I was reminded of when I was a little girl complaining to my dad of having to wear itchy panty hose to church. The moment we arrived home from church, I would run upstairs and take them off as fast as I could. Unfortunately, I am no longer seven and I do not have an excuse not to wear them. I’ve always wondered why my dad laughs every time he sees me dressed up. I walked into Forever 21 the other day and all I wanted to buy were baseball t-shirts and zip-up jackets. Like a mother forcing her child to eat vegetables, I forced myself to look at the business attire instead. For the first time, I caught a glimpse of the crisis I will have the day I shop at Anne Taylor when I turn 30. Hello endless cardigans and high heels!

In the mean time, I have my old jeans and my winter coat nearby so when the snow begins to fall, I will be prepared. Totally classy.


