You could hide beside me.

by hillarymay

I had an entire hour to myself as I drove back to Taylor Sunday night. It had been a long break, and so I put in one of the only CD’s that I knew could cure my current state: Goo Goo Dolls Live in Buffalo. This may seem strange, but this particular album does wonders to my soul. I began listening to this CD during Holly’s senior year of college. She listened to it while student teaching and gave it to me at some point during the spring of my freshman year of high school. I consider myself a sponge when it comes to my sisters. It didn’t matter that I was 14 years old at the time. It doesn’t matter that I’m 20. It has taken me years to be content with our age gap.  But what I have found is this: It doesn’t matter what stage in life we’re in, we find a way to relate. We may be across the country from one another (literally in both directions) but a simple memoir like the Goo Goo dolls makes everything seem okay.

