the frivolous countdown

by hillarymay

This week was a struggle. I was however, mentally prepared. Without my game plan, I would of been the lonely boy who forgot his water wings at the swimming pool. Two weeks before spring break and I was already feeling the angst. Multiple exams clouded my to-do list, along with meetings, volunteer projects, and the much desired homework. It was as if I was Maximus Meridius in Gladiator fighting off the Romans in the stadium, figuratively speaking of course.

I consistently rocked the 3 a.m.; anything past it just seemed to appear hazy. I took one nap all week. I have this friend, lets call him Ryan, who insists that either a 20 min., 40 min., or an 1 hour and 20 min nap is the best route to take when it comes to lying down. Unfortunately for me, I slept for an hour and a half, and I woke up disoriented and angry looking.

I surprisingly managed somewhat of a social life, which consisted of Castle Clout, Wednesday coffee and Shamrock Shakes. Ah yes, lets not forget the entire heap of Sammy 2 boys marching through Olson while dropping off a poor boy water-wingsin his boxers in the lounge. Sammy boys and girls…such a struggle. In the heat of the weak, I officially decided that I would like to witness the Running of the Bulls in Pamplona, Spain. I ate more peanut butter and jelly sandwiches this week than I have in my 19 years of life. It was like manna from heaven when the DC lifted the peanut butter scare.

There you have it. My light hearted version of stressful Hillary attempting to keep her head above water…with or without the water wings.

All in a days work.

