Morning Brew

by hillarymay

I pulled into Starbucks at 8 a.m. this morning. Grabbing my overly filled back pack, I walked in. Heart pounding, I sat down in a booth and took off my jacket. I unzipped my back pack, anstarbucksd I pulled out my very own coffee maker. An assortment of coffee grounds followed, along with a mug and a pile of filters. I placed a filter in its place and poured four cups of water into the machine. With the flip of a red switch, I began brewing my own pot of coffee while people poured into Starbucks to receive their daily brew. When it was finished, I poured half the pot into my own starbucks mug and proceeded to sit and drink.

Brewing my own pot of coffee in a place like Starbucks? Unconventional. Unheard of. For a single morning, I decided to go against a norm in society. The experience didn’t go without looks and stares, but it was exhilarating. When I finished my cup, I packed up my coffee maker and walked out.

It was that easy. I challenge YOU to break a norm for a day.

